top of page
Search
Writer's pictureCarmen Ilie

HELLO, DAVOS.


A weekend trip.



How many of you have heard about the famous chocolate Toblerone? If you have a quick look at its package, you will notice a mountain. That is called Matterhorn, and it overlooks the town of Zermatt. Connected to it by the scenic Glacier - Express train ride, lies the town of Davos.



Located in the Swiss Alps, Davos is widely known not only as a ski resort, but also as the place housing the conference centre for the annual World Economic Forum.


At the end of October, I had the great opportunity of spending one weekend in this nice town. I arrived on Friday evening and although I was expecting it to be rather cold, the weather was fairly warm. The forecast showed 100% chances of snow for Saturday & Sunday, which didn't seem to be highly likely, but hey... does Switzerland ever fail to surprise you?



The view above is what I woke up to on Saturday morning, and the fog just added a pinch of mystery into the air...



Here is a different perspective of the town. The building with a round rooftop spotted further away, at the foot of the mountain, is the InterContinental Davos Hotel.



As previously planned, I went for a walk up the mountain, but no sooner had I reached the plateau, than a snow storm kicked in. I didn't climb any further, however the view was simply gorgeous.



You would not believe your eyes if ten million fireflies lit up the world as I fell asleep...



The branches started to bend under the snow.



And because it was the perfect time for a snowball fight, I went for it... :D



Isn't it enchanting how everything seemed like standing still?



A couple of frozen berries.



Autumn colours clothed in white.



By the time I got back to my room, it was already evening, so I enjoyed a hot cup of tea looking at the view above, which inspired me a pretty Christmas-like atmosphere... and no wonder why.



Being in Davos was, for sure, an awesome experience. Not only was it an opportunity to explore new places and enjoy the snowy weather, but also to see some good old friends, meet new people, and have fun together. I definitely look forward to my next visit, meanwhile being happy about this last one :)


Do. Or do not. There is no try. - Yoda


Carmen




P.S.: With many thanks to Hannah Rissler. Hannah is a talented, growing artist, and you can see more of her at https://www.instagram.com/hr.artistry/?hl=en

103 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page