top of page
Search
Writer's pictureCarmen Ilie

HELLO, BRASOV.

Updated: Aug 2, 2020


Going up the mountain trail.



Undoubtedly one of the most popular places in Romania, as well as the largest city in a romanian mountain resorts area, Brasov comprises not only a range of picturesque buildings of medieval architecture meant to catch your attention in the blink of an eye, but also an amazing overview from the top of the mountain at whose feet the city lays. Known as Mount Tampa, its elevation reaches a little less than 1km, having a stunning view of the entire Burzenland.


For this trip, I decided to go by foot up the mountain, taking an uphill trail of medium difficulty, and a more challenging one known as Gabony's Steps when climbing down. When I started off, it was noon time, and the forest looked magical.



The sun was peeking out from behind the branches, causing colourful flares to be seen through the lens of the camera.



After about an hour of climbing, I reached the top.



As I was expecting, the overview during early September was just gorgeous. Look at all those tiny houses as seen from afar.



I could not help spotting the colour transition the trees undergo at this time of the year, as it can be seen at the bottom of the picture below.



It was almost evening when I decided to climb down the mountain, and the views I would witness were about to surprise me.



The sunset was breaking in, and the golden light definitely stole the show.



The game of the light falling over the corners of the mountain rendered so many enchanting sights.


To me, Brasov embodies one of the few cities which, although old, is kept alive by a unique history, remarkable architecture and medieval music, to mention a few. Having been able to go up and down the mountain which overshadows the city was an awesome experience, and although it felt kind of slippery at times, the scenery I got to see made every step be worth it. :)


Never tell me the odds. - Han Solo


Carmen


P.S.: With many thanks to Alexandra for being an amazing partner in crime and joining me in my quest of taking pictures, as well as to Madalina for providing me with a healthy amount of good cheer when photographed!

77 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page